The Windsors

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • Categories

  • Archives

The Elegant Princess Marina

Posted by augustarose on March 30, 2010

So… I have almost NO hits yet, but I really don’t want to be one of those people who pimps out their blog. I hate people like that. Or at least I did before I had a blog of my own. I tried to get my blogs in google results so hopefully that will bring in some traffic. I will be writing part three of Gay for Hitler whenever I have time. Perhaps I chose a title that was too controversial or weird but I always thought the remark I got it from was just so ridiculously funny.

So I wanted to do a post on Princess Marina, who is one of my favorite royals of all time. I really don’t know that much about her, strangely enough, but from everything I have seen she seemed like an amazing woman. She was born in 1906, a Greek Princess, though actually of Danish and Russian descent (I think there was some German in there too) and was married to Prince George, Duke of Kent, fourth son of George V, who doesn’t get nearly as much attention as he should.

I really can’t write much else because I don’t have a book on them, which is not for a lack of effort on my part. I have heard of only two that were ever written, and I’ve never come across either of them in my years of searching. And I don’t want to write some long detailed post using details from the internet, because I don’t trust many online sources. She is mentioned in most books on the House of Windsor as well as most books on the Greek royal family, but she tends to only be a minor character.

I’ve always imagined her as rather sad. Her family were among the many exiled royals that were running around in Europe after World War I and her husband died young, leaving her a widow at age 36 with three children. But she still had style. My favorite royal fashion icon is probably Wallis Windsor, but she did not have the elegance or regality of Princess Marina. Marina looked like a Princess. Every photo I’ve ever seen of her just oozed class.

See what I mean? Pure elegance.

That hat looks amazing on her. I think it would look terrible on pretty much every other royal woman who ever lived, but not Marina.

One Response to “The Elegant Princess Marina”

  1. Those are gorgeous photos, Augusta. I have heard that the name Marina became very popular in the 1930s following Princess Marina’s marriage.

Leave a comment